The Dark Blues
Sign in to follow this  
Edin_Dee

In Hindsight

Rate this topic

Would you have voted FPS into power?

Now I will start this off by saying I have no real knowledge of how the club was being run under fan ownership. I've heard the rumours that we were being run into the ground but is that really true? The way I see it is we were doing not too badly for a club that had just come out of administration. We were living within our means as far as I am aware?

There is no doubt when FPS came in it brought a lot of optimism to the club. The decision to bring in Paul Hartley was a great one. If he hadn't come in we probably wouldn't have won the league. The following season, ticket prices were frozen (I think?), sensible signings were made and we had a good season. Up until then all was going well and I really thought the club was going places.

From then on it has been one poor decision after another from FPS. Terrible transfer windows, throwing away money with long term contracts for poor players, a bizarre manager appointment and most importantly driving away fans with significant ticket price increases.

I keep hearing "FPS have done a lot of good for this club". What is it they have done that has been so good? Fair play they have put their money where their mouth is but what is the point when you don't have people in place to competently spend it?

Right now we are odds on favourite to be relegated, running at losses of between £500k - £1m per year, letting Dens fall apart, looking increasingly likely the new stadium idea is not happening, have a Board trying to force DFCSS to give up their shares/vetoes and have a support declining more and more every season. If we do get relegated I would argue we will be in a worse state than when FPS took over.